facebook-icon google-icon pintrest-icon twitter-icon
ribbon

Discover The History Behind Our Building

Jefferson’s Pub and Grill is a time capsule for Winona and train history, iconic pop culture, and historic sports equipment.  Stop on in to learn about the town, the railroad boom, and pump action vacuum cleaners! We are currently working on history project about the building and town pictures, so stay tuned for our findings!

 

This building was constructed in 1885 as a freight house for the Winona and St. Peter Railroads. Later known as the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad. It was designed with one-foot thick brick exterior walls and an elevated limestone foundation for ease of loading and unloading the railroad cars.

 

The building has been listed on the State and National Historic Registry. We work hard with all remodels to maintain the original character.

 

In 1961, the building was acquired by the Peerless Chain Company for use in its production operation.

 

In 1983, Frank and Cindi Zacher renovated the building and reopened it as a restaurant and bar known as Zach's On The Tracks.

 

In 1994, it was once again refurbished, remodeled and reopened as Jefferson’s Pub and Grill.

 

In 2006, Chase and Wendy Hoffmann, with their families, purchased Jefferson’s Pub & Grill.

We are listed on the National and Minnesota Register of Historic Places.

jefferson-grill-logo image-3